Action Alert

Carroll Independent School District (Carroll ISD) has plans on Monday, August 3rd to present a so-called “Cultural Competence Action Plan” loaded with LGBTQ advocacy to the school board of trustees for a vote. The long, 34-page document includes massive details on how the school plans to increase the presence of LGBTQ groups, curriculum, and special protections over the course of 5 years.

As we have seen before in other school districts, “diversity” and “inclusion” have been propagandized to be code words for teaching LGBTQ issues in sex education, hosting district-wide LGBTQ Pride weeks where students sign pledges affirming the LGBTQ lifestyle, and schools inviting Drag Queens as guests for story hours and cosmetology classes

Some of the points in the plan are:

  • Action Step 7: Establish a LGBTQ+ student focus group (grades 9-12) to provide dialogue and discussion on topics important to their group.

  • Objective 2.1: Increase opportunities in Carroll ISD for underrepresented groups (BIPOC, religious, LGBTQ+, etc.) to be included, provide feedback and have a voice in district equity work.

  • Strengthen CISD expectations of students and update written discipline policies to address any harassing, offensive, hateful or discriminatory speech directed at individuals or groups of individuals based on race, religion, color, national origin, gender, sexual orientation or disability;

  • Strategy 3.1.1: Strengthen wording and consequences in the Student Code of Conduct (SCOC) for hate speech, racial slurs or acts against individuals or groups of individuals based on race, religion, ethnicity, gender, sex, sexual orientation or disability.

These types of policies will ensure that curriculum is taught championing LGBTQ issues, punishing Christian students who have sincere beliefs on marriage and gender, and could even expand to the issues of men in women’s locker rooms, or competing on girls’ sports teams. But that’s not all, the plan will allow students to use a hot line to “snitch” on any opposition to LGBTQ issues. The policy will create an environment that pits students against each other and antagonizes Christian students who hold a biblical worldview.

It is important that you take a stand immediately and tell the Carroll ISD Board of Trustees this plan is controversial and not necessary. This divisive plan will marginalize students, parents, and teachers of faith.

Sign up to testify at the Carroll ISD meeting and let the school board know that you know what the plan is really about: LGBTQ indoctrination and special treatment based on sexual orientation in schools. Tell the Board of Trustees to vote “No!”

The school board meeting will be Monday, August 3, 2020 at 4:00 p.m. Recent board meetings have taken place virtually. Carrol ISD is expected to post further details on how to sign up for public comments on their website here.

Please email the School Board Members directly to express your opposition:

Michelle Moore (Vice President): michelle.moore@southlakecarroll.edu

Todd Carlton: todd.carlton@southlakecarroll.edu

David Almand: david.almand@southlakecarroll.edu

Danny Gilpin (Secretary): danny.gilpin@southlakecarroll.edu

Eric Lannen: eric.lannen@southlakecarroll.edu

Sheri Mills (President): sheri.mills@southlakecarroll.edu

Matt Bryant: matt.bryant@southlakecarroll.edu

 

 

Texas Values is a 501(c)(3) non-profit organization dedicated to standing for faith, family, and freedom in Texas. Copyright © 2020 Texas Values, All rights reserved.

txvalues.org

Texas Values
900 Congress Ave.
Suite L115
Austin, Texas 78701
(512) 478-2220
Unsubscribe